Jump directly to the content

News Corp is a network of leading companies in the worlds of diversified media, news, education, and information services.


Your Sun

A News UK Company

Released player lists: There are some REALLY big names leaving Premier League clubs for free

  • Premier League clubs have detailed their released player lists
  • The likes of Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Lucas Leiva and Joey Barton will all be searching for a new club

It’s reached that time of the year when Premier League clubs are, rather brutally, officially name the players they are releasing at the end of the season.

And this year’s selection is almost as emotional as they come, with a number of cult heroes saying their goodbyes.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic is the biggest casualty to be released, with Manchester United forced to cut their losses on their goal machine striker after his horrible knee injury back in late April.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic celebrates with United’s Europa League trophy

Zlatan Ibrahimovic celebrates with United’s Europa League trophy

The big Swede’s time at Old Trafford comes to an end after just a single year, scoring 28 goals as he helped United win the League Cup and the Europa League.

Arsenal’s Yaya Sanogo and Burnley midfielder Joey Barton are other major names to feature, while Manchester City’s full back options will need replacing with Pablo Zabaleta, Bacary Sagna and Gael Clichy all leaving.

Joey Barton has admitted his career is probably over now he has been banned for betting

Getty Images
Goodbye Joey, thanks for the memories

Relegated Sunderland let the most players go, with the likes of John O’Shea, Victor Anichebe and Steven Pienaar all on their way.

See the top six club’s lists below:


Da Graca Kristopher Santos
O’Connor Stefan Ramone Sewell
Sanogo Yaya


Davey Alex James
Terry John George


Brewitt Tom
Brimmer Jake
Dunn Jack
Gomes Aju Madger Antonio
Lewis Kane
Manninger Alexander
Phillips Adam Lee

Manchester City

Bullock Callum
Caballero Lazcano Wilfredo Daniel
Clichy Gael
Navas Jesus
O’Brien Billy Thomas
Plummer Ellis Kane
Sagna Bacary
Zabaleta Girod Pablo Javier

Manchester United

Ibrahimovic Zlatan

Tottenham Hotspur

Lesniak Filip