Jump directly to the content

News Corp is a network of leading companies in the worlds of diversified media, news, education, and information services.

DREAM TEAM

Your Sun

A News UK Company
TOP
Controversy

Here’s why Alexis Sanchez’s goal should have been disallowed for two different reasons

The FA Cup final came firing out of the blocks as the Gunners' top scorer scored a controversial goal

The FA Cup final didn’t waste anytime in providing controversy and drama.

In just the 4th minute Alexis Sanchez put the ball in the net only to see it ruled out by the linesman.

8

Arsenal’s superstar wasn’t offside himself but team-mate Aaron Ramsey certainly was offside and he appeared to make a movement towards the ball initially before moving out of the way and allowing Sanchez to collect the ball and score.

The decision was then overturned and suddenly Arsenal were 1-0 up.

N’Golo Kante tried to hook the ball clear but Sanchez made the block; note Ramsey’s position…

8

The ball looped into Chelsea’s box with Ramsey and Sanchez both reacting to its flight…

8

Both Arsenal players moved towards the ball as Chelsea players appealed for offside…

8

Ramsey then realised he was offside and left it for Sanchez…

8

Sanchez easily finished past Thibaut Courtois…

8

And wheeled away to celebrate…

8

Straight away the flag went up and the goal was ruled out.

But then after a discussion between referee Anthony Taylor and the linesman, the decision was overturned and the goal was allowed to stand.

However, because Ramsey made an attempt to play the ball and in a prominent area of the pitch, the original offside decision was the correct one.

Not only that, Chelsea fans will feel particularly aggrieved as it appeared that Sanchez made the initial block with his hands.

8

A lucky break for Arsenal although there’s no doubt the Gunners had the better of the game’s opening exchanges.

Cracking final so far…

DREAM TEAM COMEDY: If Premier League clubs went to Parents' Evening