Jump directly to the content

News Corp is a network of leading companies in the worlds of diversified media, news, education, and information services.

DREAM TEAM

Your Sun

A News UK Company
TOP
Decision of the season?

Riyad Mahrez has penalty DISALLOWED after he touches the ball twice

Sharp-eyed ref Bobby Madley disallows Leicester's equaliser after Mahrez struck the penalty kick twice

Riyad Mahrez saw a penalty DISALLOWED as Leicester fell to a 2-1 loss against Manchester City.

The Foxes battled back in the second-half of an entertaining match at the Etihad Stadium to make the score 2-1 and when Mahrez was awarded a penalty on the 77th minute, he stepped up to take the kick.

Mahrez slots home the penalty… but the goal is disallowed

5
Mahrez slots home the penalty… but the goal is disallowed

And he duly slotted home past Willy Caballero to seemingly draw the score level.

Or so we all thought.

As the 26-year-old wheeled away in celebration, the referee blew his whistle to cut him short.

And to the amazement of the crowd inside the Etihad, he signalled for the goal to be disallowed and a free-kick to be awarded the other way.

“Nice one mate” says birthday-boy Yaya Toure

5
“Nice one mate” says birthday-boy Yaya Toure

What?!

Cue confusion and protest, as the Leicester players crowded around referee Bobby Madley, who spotted the Algerian touch the ball TWICE before the ball sailed into the back of the net.

And right he was.

Mahrez runs up to take the penalty

5
Mahrez runs up to take the penalty

…But he slips and hits the ball twice

5
…But he slips and hits the ball twice

Video replays clearly show Mahrez slip as he took the kick, with his right foot clipping the ball as he struck it with his left.

Mightily unlucky, but the correct decision.

Mahrez and co are gutted, clearly

5
Mahrez and co are gutted, clearly

And of course, instantly memory returns to Wednesday night’s Champions League semi-final clash between Real Madrid and Atletico, when replays showed Antoine Griezmann’s penalty for Atleti should not have stood after he touched the ball twice.

Clearly the referee that night wasn’t as eagle-eyed as Madley.

Lucky ol’ us, eh?