Jump directly to the content

News Corp is a network of leading companies in the worlds of diversified media, news, education, and information services.


Your Sun

A News UK Company

OFFICIAL: Cristiano Ronaldo wins Fifa ‘The Best’ Men’s player award

Real Madrid and Portugal superstar Cristiano Ronaldo has been awarded the inaugural Fifa ‘The Best’ Men’s player award.

The forward beat Lionel Messi and Antoine Griezmann to the trophy at a ceremony in Zurich.

The award is Fifa’s first since breaking away from the France Football-backed Ballon d’Or, which was also awarded to Ronaldo in December last year.

The world football governing body had collaborated with France Football between the years 2010-2015 to create the Fifa Ballon d’Or before announcing last year they would create their own rival award.



Between 20 November 2015 and 22 November 2016 (the date range in which the awards take into account) Ronaldo scored 35 La Liga goals, four in the Club World Cup and 13 in the Champions League as Real Madrid lifted the trophy last season.

He also memorably led Portugal to their Euro 2016 triumph last summer.

Voted by a combination of a public vote, the global media and national teams’ players and coaches, the award ceremony also saw the announcements of The Best Fifa Women’s Player, The Best Fifa Men’s Coach, The Best Fifa Women’s Coach, The Fifa Fair Play Award, The Fifa Puskás Award, The Fifa Fan Award and the Fifa Fifpro World11.

The award winners in full:

The Best Fifa Men’s Player – Cristiano Ronaldo

The Best Fifa Women’s Player – Carli Lloyd

The Best Fifa Men’s Coach – Claudio Ranieri

The Best Fifa Women’s Coach – Silvia Neid

The Fifa Fair Play Award – Atletico Nacional

The Fifa Puskás Award – Mohd Faiz bin Subri

The Fifa Fan Award – Liverpool and Borussia Dortmund

Fifa Fifpro World11 – Manuel Neuer, Dani Alves, Gerard Pique, Sergio Ramos, Marcelo, Luka Modric, Toni Kroos, Andres Iniesta, Lionel Messi, Luis Suarez, Cristiano Ronaldo