RIYAD MAHREZ had his penalty disallowed for Leicester against Manchester City… as he kicked it twice after slipping.
The Algerian star superbly won the spot-kick after being hauled down by Gael Clichy, but had goal chalked off in bizarre circumstances.
After stuttering in his run-up, Mahrez slipped but somehow managed to get a good enough connection to see the ball rifle into the top left corner of the net.
Keep up to date with ALL the football news, gossip, transfers and goals on our page plus fixtures, results and live match commentary.
However, seconds later referee Bobby Madley blew his whistle, much to the Leicester players’ bemusement.
On review, it’s clear Mahrez made TWO contacts with the ball after he slipped and knocked the ball into his right leg.
The ball then somehow made it’s way into the back of the net, but would not stand.
With the game poised at 2-1, that ruled out equaliser could prove to be a massive boost for City – and a huge blow for clubs around them in the table, such as Liverpool, Arsenal and Manchester United.
The incident echoes another very similar incident from earlier this week, when Antoine Griezmann scored from the spot against Real Madrid in the Champions League semi-final.
The Frenchman’s standing leg connected with the ball as he struck it past Keylor Navas, who got a hand to it.
The goal should not have stood, but was allowed to count as Atletico eventually crashed out of Europe.
Back in 2004, Middlesbrough had a penalty count in the League Cup final against Bolton – despite Bolo Zenden doing exactly what Mahrez did on Saturday.