Jump directly to the content

FIFA 20 Ultimate QuaranTeam: Here’s everything you need to know

We live in truly extraordinary times.

So extraordinary, in fact, that the thing that might keep us as football fans sane is a 128-team FIFA 20 tournament organised by Leyton Orient.

Ultimate QuaranTeam is the brainchild of the League Two club, but what’s it all about? Here’s everything you need to know about the upcoming global tournament.

What is Ultimate QuaranTeam?

Ultiumate QuaranTeam is a 128-team FIFA 20 tournament that will take place in the coming days.

The idea was sparked by League Two club Leyton Orient, who had initially attempted to get 64 clubs from around the world to nominate a participant.

But after a deluge of responses from clubs around the world, the O’s extended the tournament to a 128-club draw.

When will it take place?

It will be spread over the coming days, as and when the individual clubs drawn against each other can arrange a time.

It is unclear at this stage how long the tournament will go on for, but a 128-club format will mean five rounds to get to the final.

Who is participating in the tournament and what is the draw?

The draw was held on Tuesday evening, and is as follows:

Fixture No. Home Away
1 Accrington Stanley Wycombe Wanderers
2 Leyton Orient Lokomotiv Moscow
3 Reading Crystal Palace
4 DC United Celta Vigo
5 Stevenage Blackpool
6 Norwich City Fleetwood Town
7 Standard Liège Bolton Wanderers
8 AS Fiorentina Nottingham Forest
9 Walsall AS Roma
10 Huddersfield Middlesbrough
11 Central Coast Mariners Shamrock Rovers
12 Plymouth Argyle ESTAC Troyes
13 Aston Villa VVV-Venlo
14 Hibernian Millwall
15 Sheffield United Carlisle United
16 Peterborough United Exeter City
17 AFC Wimbledon West Ham United
18 Manchester City KV Kortrijk
19 Cork City Ross County
20 Djugården Fotboll PSV Eindhoven
21 Benfica Swindon Town
22 Newcastle United Gillingham
23 Bristol Rovers Southend United
24 Orlando Pirates FC Sion
25 West Bromwich Albion AFC Ajax
26 Mansfield Town KAA Gent
27 Colchester United Rotherham United
28 Preston North End Doncaster Rovers
29 Sydney Barnsley
30 Grimsby Town Motherwell
31 Burton Albion Sligo Rovers
32 Adelaide United Wolves
33 Oxford United FC Nordsjælland
34 Lorient KV Mechelen
35 Crawley Town RKC Waalwijk
36 RB Salzburg Derby County
37 Stoke City Blackburn Rovers
38 Forest Green Rovers Northampton Town
39 Brentford St Mirren
40 Oldham Athletic Finn Harps
41 Waterford Angers SCO
42 Melbourne Victory Ipswich Town
43 Scunthorpe United Charlton Athletic
44 FC Emmen Port Vale
45 Vitesse Atalanta
46 MK Dons Heracles Almelo
47 Sheffield Wednesday Cambridge United
48 PEC Zwolle FC Groningen
49 ADO Den Haag Willem II
50 KRC Genk Luton Town
51 Rochdale Coventry City
52 Derry City QPR
53 Fortuna Sittard Newport County
54 Birmingham City Sunderland
55 Brighton & Hove Albion Sparta Rotterdam
56 Orlando City Feyenoord
57 Amiens Watford
58 Olympique Marseille İstanbul Başakşehir
59 Cheltenham Town Salford City
60 Portsmouth Dundalk
61 AZ Alkmaar FC Utrecht
62 Morecambe Hamilton Academical
63 Burnley Shrewsbury Town
64 PAOK FC Midtjylland

How will it actually work?

Details on how the tournament will be staged, streamed etc. are light currently, but we’re told they will be coming very soon. Watch this space…

Who will be playing for each team?

That’s entirely up to the individual club – it can be anyone they select, from first team player to fan.

Some clubs have already named their players – Crystal Palace named Andros Townsend as their man for the job, Neal Maupay will represent Brighton and Todd Cantwell has stepped up for Norwich.

Meanwhile some clubs with professional esports players are set to do well.

Manchester City’s esports team have already confirmed they will be representing the Premier League champions.

Why is the tournament taking place?

Great question, so we’ll leave it in the hands of Leyton Orient media manager Luke Lambourne.

“With no football on at the moment, we wanted to give our supporters something to get behind,” he told Sun Sport.

“We ran with a Football Manager thing on Saturday which went down really well, and wanted to keep it going.

“We saw the whole Connect Four thing over the weekend, and although it was fun at first, we thought it could be improved.

“After the media team spoke about it in house, we went for it, and the reaction has been superb.

“Myself and Dan Walker (media assistant) are both fans of FIFA, hence why the idea came about. We’ll be sitting out of this one though, and have someone in mind to lead the O’s to victory!

“We thought 64 was achievable, but that maybe 128 would be too high to aim for. But after a short period of time we’d already hit 64 – so we extended it, and have seen clubs from all over the world get in touch. From Finns Harp to Feyenoord!

“It’s still early days, so it’s hard to know exactly where it will go! With everything around the coronavirus at the moment, it was important that we did something to plug the gap.”

What’s it for?

Fun, really. But the O’s have also announced that it is also for charitable causes.

They will be raising money for Mind, and the COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fundraiser by WHO.

Money will also go into a fighting fund for EFL clubs that will suffer the most during the football-free period.

You can donate here.

Will the games be broadcast and who are the commentators?

Details on when the games will take place and how they will be streamed are yet to be confirmed.

However, already Love Island star Iain Stirling has offered his services for commentary, as has Match of the Day stalwart Guy Mowbray.

Stay tuned for more updates…