Jump directly to the content

News Corp is a network of leading companies in the worlds of diversified media, news, education, and information services.


Your Sun

A News UK Company

Someone urgently needs to explain the handball rule to Luis Suarez

S***housery has reached new levels

We shouldn’t really be surprised by anything Luis Suarez does anymore.

But even this is pretty hard to comprehend.

Suarez is the master of the dark arts and everyone knows it – he was even voted the greatest villain in sport in a recent ESPN poll.

Heads gone, Luis

Heads gone, Luis

Nice try, Barton.

Yet you can’t help but feel Suarez’s antics for Uruguay against Chile last night were just a tad futile.

The Barcelona striker has made a career of being an utter nuisance in the penalty box, winning penalties left, right and centre.

Dynamic duo

AP:Associated Press
Dynamic duo

And he was at it again in Uruguay’s crunch Copa America clash with Alexis Sanchez, Arturo Vidal and co.

Only this time Suarez was made to look the fool.

Halfway through the first half, Suarez got to the byline and tried to chip the ball over Chilean goalkeeper Gabriel Arias.

Arias, being a goalkeeper, deployed a strong hand to stop Suarez’s attempt which the striker deemed illegal.

Yes, that’s right, Suarez doesn’t think keepers should be able to use their hands.

The Uruguayan instantly appealed for a penalty only to then sheepishly rescind his provocations.

And that wasn’t the last of his antics.

Later on in the contest, he tried to get Chile defender Gonzalo Jara booked for upending a wayward pitch invader.

Never change, Luis.

Edinson Cavani’s late header clinched a 1-0 win for Uruguay, but both made it through to the knockout rounds.