Jump directly to the content

News Corp is a network of leading companies in the worlds of diversified media, news, education, and information services.

DREAM TEAM

Your Sun

A News UK Company
TOP
HOMECOMING

Should Son Heung-min’s Spurs winner have been disallowed?

It looked very much like Fernando Llorente used his arm to put the ball into Son's path in the build-up

Even with VAR this would have been a tricky one.

Spurs had spent most of the game whipping crosses into 5ft8in Lucas Moura to no avail before Fernando Llorente came on and gave them something to aim at.

That plan worked a treat as the Spaniard knocked a long ball into the path of Heung-min Son.

The South Korean, on his return to Wembley after playing at the Asian Cup, took the ball in his stride and rifled the ball home from the edge of the area.

His second goal in four days was rather fortuitous as Newcastle goalkeeper Martin Dubravka allowed the ball to slide past him on the line.

But there were even more question marks over Llorente’s role in the build-up to to the goal.

Tough call

3
Tough call

3

As the ball dropped out of the sky it looked as though Llorente used his chest to play the ball to Son.

However on closer inspection there is a definite suspicion that the ball may have come off the striker’s arm instead of his body.

On first glance it looked fine, but it was only when the replays were shown that the potential for handball became clear.

It’s a tough call either way and even with VAR it would be hard to say whether it conclusively came off his arm or chest.

He hit that sweet

Getty - Contributor
3
He hit that sweet

It has to be said that it may have only hit Llorente’s arm (if it did) because he was shoved by Fabian Schar once he was already in the air.

Jamie Redknapp said he thought it came off Llorente’s chest on Sky Sports and added that the blame laid firmly with Dubravka for letting it slip past hime.

Moments before Salomon Rondon had struck the post for Newcastle from a header so the goal was even more of a suckerpunch for Rafa Benitez.

All we know is that we would not like to be the referee having to make that call. 


READ MORE FROM THE WORLD OF DREAM TEAM:

View this post on Instagram

🐜

A post shared by Dream Team (@dreamteamfc) on