Jump directly to the content

News Corp is a network of leading companies in the worlds of diversified media, news, education, and information services.

DREAM TEAM

Your Sun

A News UK Company
TOP
BLIND

Spurs’ disallowed goal against PSV was the most ridiculous application of the offside law

Davinson Sanchez must have thought he had his first goal for the club

Rules are rules.

But the offside rule is one that has divided nearly everyone since it brought in the ‘interfering with play’ caveat.

The rule states that for a player to be offside there must be fewer than two players between him and the goal, but if he is in an offside position but not attempting to interfere with play then it should be given.


SIGN UP – WIN £5k BY PLAYING DREAM TEAM WEEKENDER THIS WEEKEND


Angry.

Reuters
3
Angry.

It is this part of the rule that makes Davinson Sanchez’s disallowed goal against PSV this evening so bizarre.

Toby Alderweireld forces a save from the keeper with a header from a corner and Sanchez follows up to bury it in the bottom corner.

The Spurs players wheel off in celebration only to turn around in bemusement as the linesman raises his flag.

It took several replays but it appears the offside was given because of Harry Kane’s position.

Strangely, not one PSV player tried to appeal at the moment it happened.

3

Sanchez was clearly the most annoyed because it would have been his first goal for the club.

Strictly speaking Kane is in an offside position, with just one player between him and the goal, but the rules clearly state a player can be offside as long as they do not hamper the keeper or attempt to interfere in play.

And that is exactly why this decision was so ridiculous.

As Sanchez strikes the ball it goes to the opposite corner from the goalkeeper leaving him no chance.

Kane is stood behind Jeroen Zoet in goal so he isn’t in his eye-line and then as the ball comes in he jumps but it has absolutely zero impact on play or where the ball was going.

We’ve circled Kane and the ball here

3
We’ve circled Kane and the ball here

The referee has the perfect position to see where Kane is in relation to where the ball and the keeper are and yet he lets the linesman is paralell to the goal make the call.

How can he tell if Kane is several feet from the ball from his position on the touchline?

It’s impossible.

Jermaine Jenas did not hold back on BT Sport, “He’s not in the line of the goalkeeper, he’s not interfering, it’s a shocker it really is”

It was then described as a ‘non-existent offside’ on the show.

Agreed.


WATCH: The second part of our exclusive documentary