Jump directly to the content

Trent Alexander-Arnold one of a number of surprise names in England’s 2018 World Cup squad

England's 2018 World Cup squad has been announced by Gareth Southgate

Who said Gareth Southgate was boring?

The England boss sprung a surprise by calling up Liverpool’s uncapped defender Trent Alexander-Arnold to his 2018 World Cup squad.

The 19-year-old right-back was rewarded with a plane ticket to Russia after impressing during Liverpool’s run to the Champions League final.

DREAM TEAM WORLD CUP Click here to pre-register for this summer’s brilliant game


Fabian Delph was another surprise addition although it appears he’s been named as a midfielder, with left-backs Ashley Young and Danny Rose both included.

But, when it comes to a World Cup squad announcement, one player’s joy is another’s despair.

Delph’s inclusion means no place for Jack Wilshere despite a season in which he’s finally played regularly for Arsenal.

At least Jack took it well…

Joe Hart’s season to forget means he’s been left at home, with Jordan Pickford, Jack Butland and Nick Pope picked to keep England’s sheets clean.

Gary Cahill made the 23, surviving a shaky season with Chelsea, as Southgate looks for a steady hand amongst an inexperienced defence.

There was no repeat of Theo Walcott’s 2006 call-up as Southgate chose to ignore the clamour to include 17-year-old forward Ryan Sessegnon.

The forward hasn’t even turned 18 yet but has already racked up more than 50 games for Fulham this season, with his final game of the campaign set to be the play-off final.

Young King

PA:Press Association
Young King


Goalkeepers: Jordan Pickford (Everton), Jack Butland (Stoke), Nick Pope (Burnley)

Defenders: Kieran Trippier (Spurs), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Kyle Walker (Man City), Danny Rose (Spurs), Ashley Young (Man United), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), John Stones (Man City), Harry Maguire (Leicester), Phil Jones (Man United)

Midfielders: Fabian Delph (Man City), Eric Dier (Spurs), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Dele Alli (Spurs), Jesse Lingard (Man United), Ruben Loftus-Cheek (Crystal Palace)

Forwards: Raheem Sterling (Man City), Jamie Vardy (Leicester), Marcus Rashford (Man United), Harry Kane (Spurs), Danny Welbeck (Arsenal)

Dream Team World Cup