Luis Suarez is never too far from controversy, is he?
On his return to Chelsea last night – a team he terrorised so often back in the day (just ask Branislav Ivanovic) – the striker was involved in a fairly typically Suarez-esque incident.
Around the 74th minute, with Chelsea 1-0 up and literally moments before Barcelona’s equaliser, Suarez was bundled over in the box by Blues defender Antonio Rudiger.
It probably did warrant a foul and a penalty, and the Barca forward was clearly incensed at the referee’s decision to simply wave play-on.
However, justice seemingly prevailed as the resulting passage of play ended with Barca scoring anyway, with Chelsea winning the ball back only for Andreas Christiansen to give it straight to Iniesta, who duly set-up Messi for his first ever goal against the Blues.
And as Suarez wheeled away to celebrate the goal with his teammate, he could be seen goading the linesman and referee, almost as if to say “we can score, with or without your assistance!”
Of course, he was booked by the ref only moments later. Classic Suarez.
Suarez’s antics aside, the goal was Messi’s first against the Blues in 730 minutes of football, going back to his first appearance against them in 2006.
The strike was also the first time a Barcelona player has scored an away goal in the Champions League since November 2016.
Roll on the second leg!
- This is the moment Lionel Messi broke 12-year record against Chelsea
- Sergio Busquets makes everyone else look like a Sunday League player
- Antonio Conte claims it would have been ‘suicidal’ to play Alvaro Morata against Barcelona