Jump directly to the content

News Corp is a network of leading companies in the worlds of diversified media, news, education, and information services.

DREAM TEAM

Your Sun

A News UK Company
TOP
DIVE RIGHT IN

Everyone’s saying the same thing after Dele Alli did THIS in Spurs’ clash with Burnley

The midfielder has become quite a controversial figure lately

Dele Alli is certainly not a popular figure among neutrals right now, after a series of below-par performances and controversial moments in recent weeks.

You may remember the midfielder got away with a fairly nasty tackle on Kevin De Bruyne last week in Tottenham’s defeat to Manchester City, which many fans believe warranted a red card.


CLAIM YOUR FREE £20 BET Sun Bets are offering this great offer when you sign up and bet a fiver


Check it out, if you need a reminder:

And in today’s game against Burnley, the youngster once again escaped a red card for a nasty tackle inside the opening four minutes of this evening’s clash at Turf Moor.

The hothead dived into a silly challenge on Charlie Taylor, with referee Michael Oliver only brandishing a yellow card for the offence.

Check it out.

Hmm.

To make matters worse, Alli won a penalty for Spurs only minutes later which Harry Kane slotted home to give the away side a 1-0 lead.


PLAY DREAM TEAM WEEKENDER Pick seven players to win 10k!


And plenty of folks watching the game in the stadium and at home seem to think Alli dived to win the penalty.

Have a look. 

What do you think?

Speaking on BT Sport, former Premier League ref Graham Poll sided with the match official, claiming Alli had indeed been fouled and the penalty decision was fair.

He said: “I agree absolutely, Michael Oliver has called that correctly.

“It’s not just a knee on knee, the arm has come in as well, he’s definitely been impeded, it’s a good decision.”


READ MORE: