Alvaro Morata has earned himself a day off at Christmas.
But it certainly wasn’t intentional.
The Spanish forward will miss Chelsea’s clash with Everton on Saturday after being booked for celebrating… despite the fact he kept his shirt on and didn’t leave the field off play.
Morata scored a dramatic late winner as Chelsea beat Bournemouth 2-1 to reach the Carabao Cup semi-finals at Stamford Bridge.
The 25-year-old picked the ball up and placed it under his shirt and sucked his thumb at the same time.
Presumably because his wife Alice Campello announced that she is pregnant last week.
Morata then celebrated further with team-mates and Chelsea fans, before a yellow card was brandished by referee Lee Mason.
Fans were baffled as to why Chelsea will now be without their star striker against Everton.
As of yet, referee Lee Mason is yet to offer an explanation as to why Morata was booked though there are two theories.
One is that he was punished for kicking the ball away in the aftermath of the goal, an incident not picked up by the cameras, and was therefore time wasting.
The other is that he was booked for an ‘excessive celebration’ which would be incredibly harsh given the dramatic nature of the goal.
Chelsea boss Antonio Conte was thrilled with the quick-fire response from his side after Bournemouth had levelled moments before.
“It was important, because to go and to play 30 minutes more, I think it was a bit dangerous,” he said.
“We had a great reaction. It’s not simple to concede a goal in the last minute of the game. When you have this type of reaction, it means you have players with great character, great personality, great heart.”
Perhaps further proof that the rules of football don’t always align with the emotions of the game.