Jump directly to the content

News Corp is a network of leading companies in the worlds of diversified media, news, education, and information services.


Your Sun

A News UK Company

Watch the goals that saw England crowned Under-17 world champions

Goals from Rhian Brewster, Morgan Gibbs-White, Phil Foden and Marc Guehi saw England beat Spain in the World Cup Under-17 final

The year is 2022. England have just been crowned world champions to end 56 years of hurt.

Everyone will remember that it started with England’s victory against Spain in the 2017 Under-17 World Cup final.

Steve Cooper’s side completed a stunning comeback to beat a highly-rated Spanish outfit who were 2-0 up after 31 minutes thanks to two goals from Barcelona’s Sergio Gomez.


We wouldn’t celebrate too early lads

Getty - Contributor
We wouldn’t celebrate too early lads

England’s first goal came out of nothing.

Fulham’s Steven Sessegnon managed to create a yard on the right, whipping in a cross for Liverpool’s Rhian Brewster to head home.

Brewster’s eighth goal of the tournament sees him finish as top goalscorer and follow in the footsteps of previous winners Cesc Fabregas and Adriano.

The second relied on some good work from Man City’s Phil Foden, who was England’s standout player.

Foden slipped Sessegnon in and his cut back was smashed home by Morgan Gibbs-White.

Game on.

Supplier then turned goalscorer as Foden put England in front.

Chelsea winger Callum Hudson-Odoi left his man for dead with a turn of pace and crossed for Foden to finish.

A nervy finish was avoided when Chelsea defender Marc Guehi made it 4-2, minutes after Sessegnon had cleared a Spanish shot off the line.

Not done there, Foden got his second of the game in the 89th minute following more good work from Hudson-Odoi.

Keeping up?

It’s revenge for the European Championship last October in which Spain beat England in the final on penalties.

Now the focus must be on getting these youngsters regular first-team football.

But how likely is that to happen?

While we’re busy gloating, England are also Under-20 World Champions and Under-19 European Champions.

All hail the new golden generation.