This is certainly one that referees and fans alike will debate for some time.
Marco Verratti scored a superb 30 yard strike for Paris Saint-Germain against Bastia in their Ligue Un encounter on Saturday evening, but there were serious questions raised about the validity of the goal.
Morally, footballers know that it’s probably best to kick the ball out of play when a player is injured, but Verratti seemingly couldn’t give two hoots by the fact his own team-mate Blaise Matuidi was down injured.
As Matuidi lay on the floor, Bastia keeper Jean-Louis Leca was checking to see that his opponent was fine.
But as he did so, the game continued, and Verratti fired in a shot from long range to put his side 2-0 ahead.
Leca was only able to set himself momentarily as he attempted to save the shot, which was, by anyone’s standards, virtually unstoppable.
Watch the incident in the tweet below.
Great finish, but did Verratti have a moral duty to ensure his team-mate was better before the game was allowed to continue? Or would you have allowed it?
The result put PSG level on points with Monaco at the top of the Ligue Un table, but the Champions League semi-finalists have the benefit of two games in hand over the Paris club.