Jump directly to the content

News Corp is a network of leading companies in the worlds of diversified media, news, education, and information services.

DREAM TEAM

Your Sun

A News UK Company
TOP
Seeing Red

Should Sergio Ramos have been sent off for this first-half tussle?

Real Madrid hard-man had a coming together with Lucas Hernandez that was missed by the referee

Sergio Ramos is seemingly never too far away from controversy.

The Real Madrid hard-man is often regarded as one of the best defenders in the world, but he also comes with a nasty side.

Sergio Ramos loves an elbow or two

6
Sergio Ramos loves an elbow or two

The Spain international has won multiple honours throughout his career, but his ill-discipline has seen him get sent off more times than any other player in Madrid’s history.

And in this evening’s Champions League semi-final clash against bitter cross-city rivals Atletico, Ramos was lucky not to add to the 22 red cards he’s received during his Los Blancos career.

Ramos celebrating with goalscorer Cristiano Ronaldo

6
Ramos celebrating with goalscorer Cristiano Ronaldo

Just before the stroke of half-time, Ramos was seen tussling for position inside the Atleti box with centre-back Lucas Hernandez when he seems to elbow the back of the Frenchman’s head.

Replays clearly showed the 31-year-old running into the back of young defender and clip the back of his head.

But somehow he escaped punishment from the match official.

Ramos eyes up the ball

6
Ramos eyes up the ball

The elbow causes Lucas to lose his balance

6
The elbow causes Lucas to lose his balance

The Atleti man was clearly left hurt

6
The Atleti man was clearly left hurt

Hernandez was understandably incensed by the move, but referee Martin Aktinson failed to spot the offence as Madrid went into the dressing room at half-time 1-0 up.

Luckily, with eleven men.

Ramos has in fact seen red recently, after he was been sent off in Madrid’s 3-2 defeat against Barcelona just last week after a wild lunge on Lionel Messi that could’ve injured the Barca talisman.

Fortunately, the challenge didn’t cause too much harm but it did give the referee no choice but to send him off.

Ramos saw red against Barcelona recently

6
Ramos saw red against Barcelona recently

He’ll never learn, will he?