Jump directly to the content

News Corp is a network of leading companies in the worlds of diversified media, news, education, and information services.

DREAM TEAM

Your Sun

A News UK Company
TOP
TALKING POINT

Everything you need to know about FIFA 20 at E3 and EA Play

A new trailer, cover star revealed and much more

It’s June and for fans of gaming, that means one thing – E3.

Electronic Arts the developer behind FIFA have again opted to host their own event prior to E3 showcasing the games they have coming up in 2019 and beyond.

Image result for fifa 20

2

The Electronic Entertainment Expo (E3) is taking place in Los Angelos between Tuesday 11th and Friday 14th June next week.

EA Play is taking place over the coming weekend, kicking off June 8th and ending June 9th.

EA’s full schedule can be seen below.

  • 5:30pm BST / 9:30am PDT / 12:30pm EDT Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order
  • 6:00pm BST / 10:00am PDT / 1:00pm EST Apex Legends
  • 6:30pm BST / 10:30am PDT / 1:30pm EDT Battlefield V
  • 7:00pm BST / 11:00am PDT / 2:00pm EDT FIFA 20
  • 7:30pm BST / 11:30am PDT / 2:30pm EDT Madden NFL 20
  • 8:00pm BST / 12:00pm PDT / 15:00pm EDT The Sims 4

EA released a short teaser via their social channels to promote the upcoming FIFA 20 reveal.

When clicking through to the website you see the caption ‘WATCH THE FULL FIFA 20 REVEAL featuring a game-changing announcement’

What could this mean?

FIFA 20 may be getting a drastic overhaul, with a new engine, gameplay features and finally some decent updates to the much-beloved Career mode and pro clubs.

We can expect to see a reveal trailer as well as the new cover star.

Tune in tomorrow for the full reveal!

What do we know already?

Timed finishing is going to get harder for everyone with the time you’ve got to hit a perfect shot being halved, and the accuracy being dialled down across the board, with trickier shots being hit even harder.

Fans have been complaining about Fifa 19 since before it came out

Reuters
2
Fans have been complaining about Fifa 19 since before it came out

The effectiveness of keeper movement “is being heavily reduced” according to the developers.

Goalies’ speed is going to be reduced to more realistic levels, and players will be forced to “commit to a direction” when controlling keepers manually.

The biggest single change is to computer-controlled defending, though.

EA admitted this had been “continuously mentioned and requested” by players, but said it couldn’t be changed mid-year because of how far-reaching the changes are.

Next year “manual defending will be emphasised” and be made “more rewarding”, and a new system will reward manual tackling too, rather than just letting the game’s AI do the job for you.

Owen Venn plays for Method, and represented Southampton at the ePremier League finals

GETTY
2
Owen Venn plays for Method, and represented Southampton at the ePremier League finals

At the other end of the pitch, one-on-one situations are going to become easier for strikers.

Goalkeepers will have less “superhuman” reactions, and other changes are being made “resulting in more shots on target and better consistency in easy situations”.

The idea is that these changes will reward good play that sets up what should be easier goals, rather than the current system that makes scoring a worldie easier than setting up a standard team goal.

Top player’s tricks are getting slapped down too.

Image result for fifa 20

2
Could we see a return of the iconic journey mode in FIFA 20?

Currently “chaining” tricks together, such as doing multiple stepovers in quick succession or doing repeated flick-ups, is almost impossible to defend against and results in unrealistic and ridiculous plays.

That should happen less next time out, with the chances of the playing fluffing it increasing exponentially with each trick you do in sequence.