Jump directly to the content

News Corp is a network of leading companies in the worlds of diversified media, news, education, and information services.

DREAM TEAM

Your Sun

A News UK Company
TOP
say what?

FIFA 18: Something bizarre happens if you score directly from a throw in

Did EA forget to check the rule book?

Finding it hard to score worldies? Then you may need a helping hand… or two.

That’s because you’re able to score directly from a throw in on FIFA 18 – if the below footage is anything to go by.

The ball is chucked over the keeper, who then watches it roll into the net

3
The ball is chucked over the keeper, who then watches it roll into the net

One gamer has posted footage of him scoring directly from a throw in in last year’s game on the FIFA sub Reddit – and there’s a FIFA 18 example here.

The first clip sees the player take a huge run up before launching the ball across the pitch.


PLAY DREAM TEAM WEEKENDER Pick seven players to win 10k!


The keeper flounders and it ends up in the back of the net – probably because he’s not programmed to deal with the scenario.

Gamers were quick to point out the goal shouldn’t have been given, as it’s treated the same as an indirect free kick.

The game registers it as a goal despite it being against the rules

3
The game registers it as a goal despite it being against the rules

One fan suggests it may have been down to the ‘distorted hit box of the goalkeeper’ touching the ball.

This then registered it as a touch and therefore counted as a goal. Either that or EA needs to have another look at the rule book!

Take a look for yourself below. 

3

Sign up to play Dream Team 2017/18 now