Jump directly to the content

News Corp is a network of leading companies in the worlds of diversified media, news, education, and information services.


Your Sun

A News UK Company

Why fans of Bayern Munich and Inter Milan will be hoping for a France v Croatia World Cup final

Bayern Munich and Inter Milan have had a player in every World Cup final since 1982

We can only imagine that the entire world is behind England’s efforts to Bring It Home, given we are the purveyors of swashbuckling, waistcoat-led super football.

Everyone, that is, aside from small pockets of Italy and Germany. Milan and Munich, to be precise.

Rest assured that fans of Inter Milan and Bayern Munich will be burning effigies of Harry Maguire and putting their worst juju on Ashley Young’s drop of the shoulder in the build up to England’s World Cup semi-final against Croatia.

CLAIM YOUR FREE £20 BET Sun Bets have this brilliant offer when you sign up and bet a fiver

Jordan’s spotted the Bayern fans in the crowd

Alamy Live News
Jordan’s spotted the Bayern fans in the crowd

The reason?

Anything other than a France v Croatia final will see Bayern and Inter’s proud 36-year World Cup finals run come crashing to a halt.

Both clubs have been represented by at least one player in the World Cup final since Spain 1982.

Spot the Inter players

Spot the Inter players

The great and the good of football from Ronaldo to Marco Materazzi have represented Inter through the years, while Bayern had seven players in the victorious Germany side in 2014.

Corentin Tolisso is the sole Bayern representative in France’s squad, although Benjamin Pavard has been tipped for a 2019 move.

Croatia’s Ivan Perisic and Marcelo Brozovic are both contracted to Inter.

We hate to break it to you Inter and Bayern fans but that record is coming to an end, unless Harry Kane makes an eleventh hour move to Germany.

How many goals will England beat Croatia by?

AP:Associated Press
How many goals will England beat Croatia by?

Full list of Bayern/Inter representatives

1982, Italy 3-1 West Germany: Gabriele Oriali, Giuseppe Bergomi (Inter Milan), Wolfgang Dremmler, Karl-Heinze Rummenigge, Paul Breitner (Bayern Munich)

1986, Argentina 3-2 West Germany: Karl-Heinz Rummenigge (Inter Milan), Norbert Eder, Dieter Hoeness, Lothar Matthaus (Bayern Munich)

1990, West Germany 1-0 Argentina: Andreas Brehme, Jurgen Klinsmann, Lothar Matthaus (Inter Milan), Stefan Reuter, Jurgen Kohler, Klaus Augenthaler (Bayern Munich)

1994, Brazil 0-0 Italy (Brazil won 3-2 on pens): Nicola Berti (Inter Milan), Jorginho (Bayern Munich)

1998, Brazil 0-3 France: Youri Djorkaeff, Ronaldo (Inter Milan), Bixente Lizarazu (Bayern Munich)

2002, Germany 0-2 Brazil: Ronaldo (Inter Milan), Jens Jeremies, Thomas Linke, Oliver Khan (Bayern Munich)

2006, Italy 1-1 France (Italy won 5-3 on pens): Marco Materazzi, Fabio Grosso (Inter Milan), Willy Sagnol (Bayern Munich)

2010, Netherlands 0-1 Spain: Wesley Sneijder (Inter Milan), Mark van Bommel, Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich)

2014, Germany 1-0 Argentina: Rodrigo Palacio (Inter Milan), Manuel Neuer, Philipp Lahm, Jerome Boateng, Bastian Schweinsteiger, Thomas Muller, Toni Kroos, Mario Gotze (Bayern Munich)